Asian-Pacific iSchool leaders will meet to discuss cooperation


Most Asian-Pacific iSchool leaders from the list below confirmed their participation on 12/5-6 (Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul, Korea) to discuss future collaboration and how to leverage iSchool branding in this region.

Asia-Pacific School Members:

  1. Charles Stuart University: School of Information Studies
  2. Nanjing University: School of Information Management
  3. Seoul National University, Korea: School of Convergence Science and Technology
  4. Singapore Management University: School of Information Systems
  5. Sungkyunkwan University, Korea: Library and Information Science
  6. University of Melbourne: Melbourne School of Information
  7. University of South Australia: School of Computer and Information Science
  8. University of Tsukuba: Graduate School of Library, Information and Media Studies
  9. Wuhan University: School of Information Management


iConference 2014 a success in European debut


Last March, more than 450 information researchers and scholars traveled to Berlin, Germany, to take part in iConference 2014. It was the ninth annual event in the iSchools’ iConference series, and the first to take place in Europe.

The official proceedings of iConference 2014 are available on the IDEALS open repository, and more information on the event itself can be found on the iConference 2014 summary page.

The iConference is an annual gathering of a broad spectrum of scholars and researchers from around the world who share a common concern about critical information issues in contemporary society. iConference 2014 took place March 4-7, and included the presentation of 39 papers, 36 notes (or short papers), 66 posters and 11 workshops. Also included were a Doctoral Colloquium, a student Social Media Expo, and numerous sessions for interaction and engagement. Keynote addresses were given by Tony Hey of Microsoft Research Connections and Melissa Terras of University College London.

Awards presented at iConference 2014 included the Lee Dirks Best Paper award, which was presented to authors Leanne Bowler, Elanor Mattern, and Cory Knobel for their work entitled Developing Design Interventions for Cyberbullying: A Narrative-Based Participatory Approach. The annual iSchools Doctoral Dissertation Award was presented to Jennifer Lynn Douglas of the University of Toronto Faculty of Information. Click here for more information about iConference 2014 award winners.

iConference 2014 was hosted by the Berlin School of Library and Information Science, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin with program administration by the Royal School of Library and Information Science, University of Copenhagen. The presenting sponsor was Microsoft Research.

Next year, the iConference moves to Newport Beach, California. Click here for more information about iConference 2014.


European iSchool leaders meet in Copenhagen to discuss cooperation and EU initiatives


Leaders from the European iSchools met in Copenhagen the weekend of November 7-8, 2013 to discuss cooperation and EU initiatives. Those in attendance:

  • Julie Mcleod, Northumbria University
  • Michael Seadle, Humboldt University
  • Pedro Simões Coelho,  NOVA University of Lisbon
  • Ann-Sofie Axelsson  University of Boras
  • Nicolas Julien, Télécom Bretagne
  • Philippe Picouet, Télécom Bretagne
  • Val Gillet, University of Sheffield
  • António Lucas Soares, University of Porto
  • Kari-Jouko Räihä, University of Tampere
  • Josep Cobarsí Morales, University of Catalonia
  • Per Hasle, RSLIS


Garfield Research Fellowship in the History of Information Science. Dec. 1 Deadline


The Medical Library Association Eugene Garfield Research Fellowship promotes and supports research in the history of information science. The $5000 fellowship, established in 2013, is to be used for research-related purposes regarding the history of information science to increase the underlying knowledge base in this area and enhance the current and future practice of the information professions, particularly health sciences librarianship.  Health sciences librarians and information scientists, health professionals, researchers, educators, and administrators are eligible. Applicants must have a master’s or doctor’s degree or be enrolled in a program leading to such a degree and demonstrate a commitment to the health sciences. The fellowship is not designed to support research for a doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis.

The award is not restricted to disbursement in a single year and funding may be disbursed over a period of up to two years depending on the needs of the research fellow. The award may be used to supplement or extend other awards, including other private or government-supported fellowships, but is not contingent on receiving other awards.  Please see the MLA Grants and Scholarships page on MLANET for more information. The submission deadline is December 1.


Syracuse University’s Chancellor Delivers iConference Keynote


Today’s information field practitioners are early adopters in bridging the world’s social, cultural, economic and technological divides, and their people-oriented, technology-led approaches to authentic communication and meaningful collaboration can increase public good efforts with lasting social impacts, according to they keynote address given at the iConference by Syracuse University Chancellor Nancy Cantor. Read more and download Chancellor Cantor’s talk [PDF].