If you want to publish a news item or a social media announcement please read our instructions on Posting of News and Social Media Announcements.

UMD iSchool faculty honored by ACM; research grants announced


The University of Maryland College of Information Studies announces that Jennifer Golbeck, professor and director of the social intelligence lab, and Nicklas Elmqvist, associate professor at the UMD iSchool, have both been elevated to 2018 ACM Distinguished Members. Golbeck and Elmqvist were 2 of only 49 people selected in the world to receive the honorable ACM award this year. Learn more

In addition, the UMD iSchool has announced the winners of its September Research Improvement Grants (RIGs). Congratulations go out to Joel Chan, Kenyon Crowley, Ken Heger, Xiaoyun Huang, Philip Piety, and Diva Smriti. The RIGs program is a competitive internal grant program for improving research. The program supports and encourages individuals or teams of researchers to catalyze and mobilize larger scale research that extends beyond the iSchool. Learn more