If you want to publish a news item or a social media announcement please read our instructions on Posting of News and Social Media Announcements.

Gobinda Chowdhury Elected iCaucus Chair, 2020-22


The iSchools organization has tapped Gobinda Chowdhury to chair its governing body, the iCaucus, for its 2020-22 term. Chowdhury is head of school at the iSchool at Northumbria University (UK), and until recently served as regional chair of the iSchools’ European region.

“It’s a great honor for me to be elected by fellow iSchoos’ Deans and Heads as the Chair of the iCaucus for its 2020-2022 term,” Chowdhury says. “Over the past decade and a half, the iSchools organization has grown significantly both in volume and diversity. As the future Chair of the iCaucus, I would like to see the iSchools community worldwide thrive through world-class teaching, research and knowledge exchange in Information, and thus make a positive impact in the modern information- and data-driven society.”

Chowdhury is scheduled to assume the reigns from Sam Oh of the Sungkyunkwan University iSchool (Korea) in 2020. Oh was named chair-elect two years ago, and formally assumes the office of iCaucus chair at next month’s iConference, taking over from outgoing chair Ron Larsen. Oh will serve as iCaucus chair for the term spanning 2018-20.

Oh and Chowdhury have both served as chairs of the iConference, the iSchools’ annual information conference focused on critical issues in contemporary society. Oh was co-chair of iConference 2017 in Wuhan, China, along with Wuhan University iSchool Dean Qing Fang. Chowdhury is co-chair of iConference 2018 in Sheffield, UK, along with University of Sheffield iSchool Head Peter Bath and Val Gillet. iConference 2018 takes place March 25 – 25, 2018.

Past iCaucus Chairs
Ronald Larsen, University of Pittsburgh (2016-2018)
Michael Seadle, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (2014-2016)
Elizabeth Liddy, Syracuse University (2012-2014)
Harry Bruce, University of Washington (2010-2012)
John Unsworth, University of Illinois (2008-2010)
Ronald Larsen, University of Pittsburgh (2006-2008)
Raymond F. von Dran, Syracuse University (2004-2006)
John King, University of Michigan (2002-2004)