Log in

Leading and Promoting the Information Field

Log in

iSchools Transition to New Leadership for 2022

13 Jan 2022 21:34 | iSchools News (Administrator)

With the coming of the new year, the iSchools organization will transition to a new slate of officers, regional chairs and board members for 2022. The organization welcomes the following new leadership, and also thanks all of our outgoing leaders for their past donations of time and expertise.


Sanda Erdelez (pictured) of Simmons University will begin her term as iSchools Chair for 2022-2024. Gobinda Chowdhury of the University of Strathclyde will move to the position of immediate Past Chair. The new Chair-Elect will be Gillian Oliver of Monash University. Eric Meyer of University of Texas at Austin retains the position of Treasurer. The organization’s Executive Director is Michael Seadle of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Regional Chairs

Keith Marzullo of the University of Maryland retains his position of Regional Chair for the Americas, spanning North and South America. Atsuyuki Morishima of the University of Tsukuba will become Chair of the Asia Pacific region, which includes Asia and Oceania. Koraljka Golub of Linnaeus University will become chair of the Europe / Africa region. 

Board of Directors

The new Board of Directors members for the Americas will includes: Kimiz Dalkir of McGill University; Anind K. Dey of the University of Washington; and Charles Isbell of Georgia Tech. In the Europe / Africa region, the new Board of Directors member will be Josep Cobarsí Morales of the Open University of Catalonia. And in a reflection of the organization's ongoing growth in Asia Pacific, the region will now have two Board of Directors members representing the region; the those new Board of Directors members will be Wonsik "Jeff" Shim of Sungkyunkwan University and Lihong Zhou of Wuhan University.

More information on iSchools leadership can be found on the organization’s website.

As this transition unfolds transition, the iSchools also thank all outgoing regional chairs and board members for their dedicated service to the organization. This includes: Peter Bath of the University of Sheffield; Kristin Eschenfelder of the University of Wisconsin-Madison; Tom Finholt of the University of Michigan; Joon Lee of Seoul National University; Gary Marchionini of the University of North Carolina; António Lucas Soares of the University of Porto; and Bin Zhang of Renmin University of China. 

The iSchools also thank Sam Oh of Sungkyunkwan University (iSchools Chair 2018 – 2020), whose term as immediate Past Chair will come to a close. Prof. Oh retains his honorary position of iSchools Ambassador.  



  • Home
  • News
  • iSchools Transition to New Leadership for 2022

Follow us on

iSchools Inc.
2885 Sanford Ave. SW, Box 40576
Grandville, MI 49418

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software