Menu
Log in


Leading and Promoting the Information Field

Log in


Keeping the Meaning Alive: Digital Curation as a Professional Calling


This event is brought to you by the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill School of Information and Library Science

Date: October 19, 2021 at 9:15 a.m. PT / 11:15 a.m. CT / 12:15 p.m. ET

Sustaining and conveying meaning over time has long been the responsibility of archivists, librarians, museum curators and other information professionals. The nature of born-digital information has necessitated fundamental differences in the way these professionals think about the materials in their care. Evolution in information and communication technologies has also reshaped expectations about the scope of preservation and curatorial work. I will discuss digital curation as a professional calling and shared lessons about how to pursue it.

Registration is limited, so sign up today!

Zoom Link: https://unc.zoom.us/j/94647421307?pwd=VVMyenQ0ck1oc3NmK25IU3FmN1ZWZz09

(RSVP for the Session Passcode)

Meet the Speaker

 

Dr. Cal Lee, Professor at the School of Information and Library Science at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 

Dr. Cal Lee is a Professor at the School of Information and Library Science at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, where he teaches courses and workshops in archives and records management; understanding information technology for managing digital collections; and adapting digital forensics methods to support curation of born-digital materials. He has served as Principal Investigator and Co-Principal Investigator of numerous digital curation research and education projects. He is a Fellow of the Society of American Archivists and recently completed his term as editor of American Archivist.



Follow us on

iSchools Inc.
2885 Sanford Ave. SW, Box 40576
Grandville, MI 49418
USA

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software